Minutes of a Special Meeting of the Board of Directors of the Western Connecticut Tourism District Wednesday, February 16, 2022, 10 am, via Zoom

Directors present were: John Baroody, Laura Budd, Joe Buhler, Jacob Conover, Annette Einhorn, Michelle Falcone, George Frantzis, Tim Good, David Green, Fran Keilty, Kathy Maher, Marcelo Martins, Dawn Nielsen, Dan Onofrio, Ben Paletsky, Christal Preszler, Carey Weber. Others present included: from Storytellers, Christine Smith and Joe Giaccone; from the Waterbury Regional Chamber, Terry Macary; guest Mary Alice Limperopulos.

Welcome/Approval of Minutes

In the chairman's absence, Ms. Macary called the meeting to order at 10:05 am. Mr. Frantzis moved to approve the minutes of the November 17, 2021, meeting as presented; Mr. Buhler seconded. The motion carried.

Financial Report

Ms. Macary reviewed the P&L, noting the District received the payments of the first three quarters of the fiscal year. She reviewed the expenses, noting that the primary push of marketing will take place in the spring and summer months. Mr. Frantzis moved to accept the financial report as presented; Mr. Baroody seconded. The motion carried.

Proposed Map for ctvisit.com

Ms. Macary reviewed a proposed map for the District. She noted that the current split of the District into Litchfield Hills and Fairfield County did not reflect the actual border of Fairfield County; in addition, the Naugatuck Valley towns did not have a separate identity. She said the proposed map was a better reflection of the District. Ms. Preszler requested that when the website was being updated, that the state also show the District borders. Ms. Macary said she would share that request with the Connecticut Office of Tourism. Ms. Einhorn moved to accept the map as presented and present the new region borders to the COT; Mr. Paletsky seconded. The motion carried.

State Marketing Update

Ms. Macary shared an update from the COT. She said that, as noted with the update to the district map, the state is updating the ctvisit.com website. She said there would first be a more cosmetic update by April; with a full redevelopment launched in the fall. She said there is a survey intended to help the COT gain insight on usability and asked everyone to keep an eye out for it. Ms. Macary also said the state is working on updating the state welcome centers with digital technology to enhance the visitor experience.

Marketing Committee/Storytellers

Mr. Giaccone said Storytellers was looking forward to working on the spring and summer campaigns, with the hope that the state would continue to move past any pandemic-related restrictions. Ms. Smith reported Facebook followers increased to 15,674 since the November 2021 meeting. Instagram also reached the 1,000-follower mark, at 1,007. She said that was due

to a focus on Instagram-only ads. Mr. Giaccone noted that the state shared their most soughtafter topics, which were food, lodging and beaches. He said that that didn't always reflect the most popular posts on the District's social media, but they would keep both sets of topics in mind. Ms. Smith shared that one of the next pieces would be a brochure or other physical collateral. Ms. Preszler recommended using a QR Code on the piece to lead to an updated website. Ms. Smith noted the upcoming potential "National Days" to be recognized in upcoming social media posts. She asked for any suggestions or recommendations for topics. Ms. Macary said she would create an upcoming calendar of days to share with Board members for their input and suggestions.

Suggestions for the Good of the Order/Adjournment

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:45 am.

Respectfully submitted, Terry Macary Administrative Partner

Directors Present:

Dawn Nielsen -- Bristol Michelle Falcone -- Easton Tim Good – Kent George Frantzis -- Middlebury Ben Paletsky -- Morris Marcelo Martins -- Naugatuck Laura Budd -- New Canaan Christal Preszler – Newtown John Baroody -- Sharon Annette Einhorn – Stamford Fran Keilty -- Washington Joe Bulher – Wilton

Industry Representatives Jacob Conover, David Green, Kathy Maher, Dan Onofrio, and Carey Weber.