

RICHARD FREEDMAN
CHAIR
MARY LOU T. RINALDI
VICE CHAIR
GEOFF ALSWANGER
LAURA BURWICK
DENNIS MAHONEY
J.R. MCMULLEN

TEL: (203) 977-4699 FAX: (203) 977-5030

BOARD OF FINANCE

STAMFORD GOVERNMENT CENTER 888 WASHINGTON BOULEVARD P.O. BOX 10152 STAMFORD, CONNECTICUT 06904-2152

BOARD OF FINANCE RESOLUTION CONCERNING TAX RATES FOR FISCAL YEAR 2024-2025

May 24, 2024

WHEREAS, Section 8-30-10 of the *City of Stamford Charter* states that on or before the twenty-fifth day of May, the Board of Finance shall determine and fix the tax rates and service charges upon the ratable estate in each of the tax districts of the City; and

WHEREAS, Section 8-40-10 of the *City of Stamford Charter* states that all motor vehicles within the City shall be taxed at a uniform city-wide mill rate; and

WHEREAS, Section 180-2 of the *City of Stamford Code of Ordinances* states that the mill rate for personal property in the Personal Property Tax District shall be taxed at a uniform city-wide mill rate;

WHEREAS, Pursuant to Charter Sec. C8-30-10 and General Statutes Sec. 7-361 the Board of Finance approved an additional tax levy to provide for a \$10,000,000 Reserve for Capital Non-Recurring Expenses for the benefit of the Long-Term Facilities plan of the Board of Education and included this additional tax levy in its approved mill rates;

WHEREAS, Pursuant to General Statutes Sec. 7-361, the \$10,000,000 additional tax levy required approval from the Board of Representatives;

WHEREAS, Pursuant to General Statutes Sec. 7-361, the Board of Representatives approved Resolution 4280 approving the additional mill rates necessary to collect the \$10,000,000 additional tax levy at a Special Meeting held on May 23, 2024;

WHEREAS, This resolution of the Board of Finance and Resolution 4280 of the Board of Representatives are intended to be read and implemented together.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY OF STAMFORD BOARD OF FINANCE that the tax rates set forth herein were read into the official record at a Special Board of Finance meeting held on May 15, 2024:

Tax District "A": 23.36 mills Tax District "B": 22.92 mills Tax District "C": 22.76 mills Tax District "C/S": 23.14 mills Personal Property District: 27.17 mills Motor Vehicles: 27.25 mills Tracy Donoghue, the duly appointed Clerk of the Board of Finance hereby certifies that the foregoing rates were read into the record at a meeting held on May 15, 2024, from 7:01 p.m. to 8:28 p.m.

<u>Tracy Donoghue</u> Tracy Donoghue, Clerk of the Board

Bridget Fox, Chief of Staff
Thomas Cassone, Esq., Law Department
Lyda Ruijter, City and Town Clerk
Ben Barnes, Director of Administration
Elda Sinani, Director of OPM
Matthew Quinones, Director of Operations
Teresa Viscariello, Controller
Lou DeRubeis, Director of Public Safety, Health & Welfare
Leah Kagan, Director of Economic Development
Jeff Curtis, President, Board of Representatives
Teri Dell, Chair, Planning Board
William Napoletano, Director, Tax & Revenue Collections
Greg Stackpole, Assessor